The Glamour Beauty Edit Eventual Review

It’s a bit of a long post for a Saturday night tonight!

You might remember a couple of weeks back I bought the Glamour Beauty Edit Summer Box (you can see the original post here) filled with a load of goodies I’ve never tried before. Since then I’ve been working my way through the contents! You can see what I thought below 🙂 Happy reading!

Bourjois Cream Blush in Rose Tender (rrp £7.99

I’ll start with my favourite item from the Edit. For the last couple of years I have religiously used Benefit’s Hervana blusher; having never found anything else which could come close to being better. This cream blusher from Bourjois, however, has impressed me greatly.

I think the thing I like most about this blusher is that it is a lot more subtle and gives a nice dewy effect. It’s a nice summer blusher and works well with highlighter, big lashes and a statement lipstick.

Bourjois Cream Blush

 

Magnifibres Brush-On False Lashes (rrp £21)

I am going to show my ignorance here – I had no idea you could buy brush-on false lashes. This is a revelation! I have never liked the thought of sticking false lashes to my eyes, having known a few people who’ve had bad reactions; so this is a good alternative to have in the make-up bag for a night on the tiles. This did make my eyelashes quite a bit longer than usual so I think I will be saving this for weekends and nights out (I tried it for work one day and felt a touch overdressed) but overall, a thumbs up from me for Magnifibres.

DSC_0111

DSC_0112

 

 

Crabtree & Evelyn Nail Lacquer in Apple (rrp £6

I reviewed this nail varnish in this week’s Mani Monday (you can have a read here). I hadn’t realised until I bought the box that Crabtree & Evelyn had nail varnish in their armoury; but I like this one muchly!

DSC_0116

 

Illamasqua Glamore Lipstick in Naked (rrp £18.50)

Hhmmm. Not really sure how I feel about this one. I’ve heard and read a lot about Illamasqua in the Twittersphere and have been wanting to try some of their stuff for a while… However; I just don’t think this is my colour. Looking at it in the light it has a nice brown undertone; but when I put it on my lips I just look like I’ve smeared foundation on them. It may just be that I am so used to wearing deep reds and pinks that this is a bit of a shock to look at, so I’ll persevere with it for a little while and try some different eye make-up out with it etc… but I haven’t been brave enough to leave the house wearing it yet 😉

DSC_0118

DSC_0119

 

DHC Deep Cleansing Oil (rrp £21.50 for 200ml)

Never cleansed with oil. Different. But I like it! Left my skin soft and feeling squeaky clean.

DSC_0121

 

Toni & Guy Glamour Volume Plumping Whip (rrp £7.19)

I think if I have any advice to give for this product; it would be use in moderation. I used this for the first time on a training night and it was pretty late by the time I had showered and got round to drying my hair. I scooped up a walnut-sized amount, as they suggest, and massaged it into the roots of my hair; but it ended up a greasy mess and I had to get up early the next morning to re-wash my barnet. The second time I used it was much better, but I used much less and even then it did leave my fringe feeling a little stringy. The rest of my hair did look like it had a bit more volume, however!

DSC_0125

Toni&Guy2

 

Hawaiian Tropic Satin Protection Sun Lotion; SPF 30 (rrp £5.99

I used this today as I sat sunning myself in the garden; enjoying Newcastle’s tropical heat wave! It’s non-greasy and smells of summer. What more could you want?

DSC_0122

 

Rimmel Sunshimmer Instant Tan BB Perfector and Velvotan Tanning Mitt (rrp £6.99 and £2.99

I’m useless with fake tan. No matter how much I exfoliate and moisturise; you can guarantee that I will always end up with a streak down my arms and white shins. Someone told me recently that wash-off instant tan is much easier to apply effectively; so fingers crossed!! I’ve never tried a tanning mitt either so hopefully that will also help to reduce my errors 😉

DSC_0123

 

Phew, that took a while! Thanks for reading!

Over and out

x

Leave a Reply

