General

There Goes 2015: A Final Month Round-Up

roundup

Happy new year everyone! Well done, you have made it through the first 2 days back at work and have almost reached the hump 🙂

I’ve not really blogged much of late; due to a variety of different reasons and other things taking over my life! Before I start throwing myself into the habitual New Year Resolutions zone, I thought I would spend today doing a bit of a December round up; as it was quite a busy month!

We’ll start with the crappy part – right at the beginning of December; I was made redundant. It was a bit of a shock, but not completely unexpected; and all things accounted for I think it really was more of a positive thing than a negative thing to have happened. I had been with my previous company since I left university; and although I had been through some great times with them and had learnt a lot from my experience there, I was ready to move on. So, I am taking the opportunity to take stock; gather myself together and get on with finding something new and exciting and fun! This might deserve a bit of a post all of its own at some point, on the list of things I’ve written to do while I’ve got the advantage of not being in work! 🙂

Right, now that is out of the way – on to all of the December festivities that were had!

My mam, sister and I had an afternoon at Kirkley Hall at the beginning of December, for a Christmas Wreath Making Workshop. This is something I’ve wanted to do ever since I read this post on So You’re Getting Married in 2014, and it did not disappoint!

To start with, we were taken through how to make the mossy base and wire it to the copper ring. Watch out for the earwigs! Once that was done, we layered the foliage base using different kinds of branches and leaves. Then, finally, it was time for decoration with pine cones, cinnamon sticks and dried oranges. As the piece de resistance; a beautiful big bow and a generous spraying of glitter to finish it off. I have to admit that I was really pleased with the result; despite a couple of (almost hidden) bald patches and a few scratches where I’d lost a battle with the holly leaves! I think we’ll be making this a yearly event 🙂

That same week, I had the annual Jools Holland its-now-officially-Christmas night out with a few friends. We go along to see his show every year at City Hall, and it officially marks the beginning of our festive season! This year was spectacular as usual. I can’t get my head around how someone can play piano so well, so fast! KT Tunstall and Ruby Turner were there as guests and by the end of the night we were all up on our feet singing along. Sorry about that, unfortunate guy sat next to me. I never said I could sing…..

The following week was my ex-works Christmas party, which I had already booked and paid up for; so I went along for some food, drinks and dancing! Unfortunately, there wasn’t very much food, and the dancing was replaced by more drinks :-/ Needless to say, the day after was messy, painful and emotional; and I would rather not talk about it at all thank you very much! I spent most of the day hiding from the world; moving only to the sofa to take up this position:

IMG_20151213_200915

Dark times; dark times indeed.

I spent the week leading up to Christmas catching up with friends and spending some quality time with Mr Knox, in between preparing the house for a McFarlane family invasion – our first year hosting Christmas! Then, on Christmas Eve, it was time for It’s A Wonderful Life at Tyneside Cinema. One of my most favourite fixtures of the holiday season; and guaranteed to bring a tear to the eye of even the most Ebenezer of Scrooges! At the end of the showing; everyone always claps – it’s lovely 🙂

DSC_1737

Christmas Day itself came and went in a blur of cooking, presents and prosecco. The best kind of days! We had a lovely relaxing time with the family. Once the parents had retreated back home and my niece was asleep; myself, James and my sister sat down for my first game of Monopoly in about 3 years. Seems I’ve become a lot more competitive since last time I played! Still didn’t win though….

We spent New Year’s Eve at home with a few friends. The plan had been to head out to a restaurant for some food and a couple of drinks; unfortunately, however, we were a bit messed around and so in the end we decided against it and braved the supermarkets instead for a feast of pulled pork, garlic bread, salad and veg. Mmmmmm!

IMG_20160101_000432
Jools Holland’s Hootenanny on the TV, obvs!

P.S. This is what happens when you try to get a ‘nice photo’ with my other half….sigh:

IMG_20160101_103936

And that, as they say, was that! Here we are in 2016; year of the wedding. Eeeek! More on that to come…..

Here’s to 2016!

 

 

Leave a Reply

