Books and Bookish Thoughts

Cravings of the Literary Variety

For the last couple of days, I have had a very prominent craving. I am craving a book. A very specific kind of book.

We are not short of them in our house. In fact, I would go so far as to say that we have books coming out of our ears; and I am in the middle of reading quite a few. My current victim is ‘The Year of Reading Dangerously’ by Andy Miller – his account of a year spent reading all the books that we all say we’ve read; or maybe sometimes even think we’ve read, but haven’t. His list includes titles like Middlemarch, Anna Karenina, Paradise Lost and 100 Years of Solitude. I would consider myself a well-read person; but I have read none of these. As much as I am enjoying his book; it is making me crave a good, solid classic…. I have to admit it’s been a while since I’ve read anything that falls under that category!

I have decided that I would like to undertake my own ‘List of Betterment‘ over the course of 2016. I have started putting together a list of both modern and older titles which I have always wanted to read; but never actually got around to reading. I will share that list with you another time; but for now I need to decide what to start with.

There has been a copy of Ulysses by James Joyce sat on my bookshelf since a ‘cultural’ trip to Dublin in 2011 (if spending the weekend in the Guinness and Jameson’s factory can be classed as cultural). It is, without a doubt, the thickest and most intimidating book I own. When I picked it up; I had visions of broadening my mind like a true intellectual on the flight back home. The reality was a stinking hangover and a very short attention span – I didn’t open it once. I got home, unpacked it and have been sneaking guilty glances at it ever since. I think, if Betterment is the aim; this is to be the first. I have to at least try. Having toyed with this idea for the last couple of days; this article then dropped into my inbox this morning. Although I can’t say I’ve taken much encouragement from it; I do think it has sealed the deal.

So if you need me any time over the next few weeks (or maybe months, who knows how it will go!) I will probably be sat in my little bookish corner trying to wade my way through this:

DSC_1821

DSC_1823

Leave a Reply

