Running & Fitness

Run, Run, Run, As Fast As You Can….

Hello and happy hump day to you all! We’re so nearly at the middle of the week 🙂

Well, I have been somewhat lax in my training diaries of late – the last couple of weeks have been mad! Full of stag do, hen do and wedding prep fun. I had my hen weekend a couple of weekends ago; decamped to a big house in Windermere for lots of food and drink in one of my favourite parts of the world. Couldn’t have asked for more!

Training for the Northumberland Half Marathon (in 4.5 weeks!) is ticking along nicely. While Long Run Sunday was disrupted a bit by the hen do; last weekend saw my longest run since 2014. That in itself is a very scary thing to write – I can’t believe it has been that long!

Having built a base in January, getting used to running again and regaining my fitness; I started injecting some Fartlek training into my runs in February. Generally speaking; I would do a 4 mile loop around the Town Moor with 30s – 1 min – 30s – 1 min – 30s bursts in the middle. Not only do you get to feel like The Flash – at least for a little bit – you can feel the benefits of a Fartlek run pretty much straight away. On Sunday, I went out for what should have been a 7 mile steady training run. However; because it’s been so long since I ran around Jesmond Dene, I managed to get a *little* bit disoriented and ended up adding an extra mile on the end. Whoops! Though, I was a little worried that I might really struggle with that distance; so it’s good to know that I was able to go a little bit further than expected!

IMG_20160228_141026

This weekend brings Alnwick Cross Country; the most scenic of all North East Harrier League fixtures (in my humble opinion); followed by 9 miles of Long Run Sunday goodness. Then it’s off to Sunderland for some Mother’s Day food 🙂

Happy running!

2 thoughts on “Run, Run, Run, As Fast As You Can….

Leave a Reply

